About our Riding

Nunavut (“our land” in Inuktitut) is the newest, largest, and most northerly territory of Canada. It was officially created on April 1, 1999 by the Nunavut Act and the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act. Nunavut is the largest in area and the second-least populous of Canada's provinces and territories. One of the world's most remote, sparsely settled regions, it has a population of about 36,000, of which approximately 85% are Inuit, spread over a land area of just over 1,877,787 km2 (725,018 sq mi) or about 20% of Canada’s land mass.

Nunavut comprises a major portion of Northern Canada and most of the Canadian Arctic.  It has 25 communities spread across the territory with no road system and all communications must be done using satellite.  It is Canada's only geo-political region that is not connected to the rest of North America by highway.

The riding covers the entire territory of Nunavut. It is the largest federal electoral district by land area in Canada, and, since the abolition of the Division of Kalgoorlie in Western Australia, the largest electoral district represented by a single legislator in the world.